Absentee Blogger and Summer Birthday Party cookies!

I can’t be the first blogger to start a blog and then fizzle out, can I?

Don’t tell me, anyway.  I’m still coming to terms with the fact that I don’t have enough time to decorate cookies and blog about it.  I have temper tantrums in my head about it all too often.  I’m one of those people that’s constantly underestimating how long it really takes to do stuff.  I’m pretty sure anyone who knows me and has experienced my chronic lateness firsthand can attest, if I say I’ll be there an hour, it’s more likely 2.5-3.  (I’m sorry!!!!!!! I wasn’t always like this!!!!  Having 3 kids kicks my butt.)  So, being that time management isn’t my strong suit, I probably had no business even starting a blog…but anyhoo.  Here we are, and I’m way overdue on a new post, and please forgive me? *bats eyelashes*

My baby girl’s first birthday was last week.  It was a rare opportunity for cookies- I had carte blanche to do as many as I could possibly eek out.  My mother-in-law literally said the words “I’ll help out however you need. I’m at your disposal.”…I think I heard harps.  The sweetest words ever spoken!  I still grin from ear to ear when I think about it.  So I planned out a cookie extravaganza- 20-something large cookies for favors, and at least 75 minis to use as cupcake toppers.

I had ordered candy-themed birthday decor from Honey Bops on Etsy.  Ever since I saw Sugarbelle’s gumball machine cookies, I’d wanted to do some, and these decorations had gumball machines on them.  Score! I used her tutorial and they came out so cute.  I even used my mini mason jar cutter to make mini gumball machines for cupcake toppers.  I know, I’m sorry, I didn’t set out to kill you with cuteness, I swear.

IPhoneSummer13 290

(In my haste to take a picture, I had forgotten that I didn’t add the last detail of white around the globe…I did add it after this pic.)

In keeping with my new obsession with minis, cookie lollipops, and pinwheels, I did mini pinwheels for the cupcakes. *squee*  They actually didn’t look as perfect as I’d hoped.  But they’re still totes cute.

IPhoneSummer13 299
A few of the mini pinwheels

Next up…mini ice creams and mini plaques.  I used a rubber stamping technique for the first time on the plaques.  It was difficult.  My cookies were as perfectly flat as I’ll ever get them and I still couldn’t get the stamps to apply fully.  I kept having to go over them again or fill in blank areas with a paintbrush.  Something to add to my list of “needs work”.  I did learn that colored non-pareils are, like, the funnest cookie decoration ever.

IPhoneSummer13 298

That night when I went to bed I had the grand idea to make an ombre pink rose birthday cake cookie.  When I woke up the next morning I couldn’t wait – I did it before I even ate breakfast.

IPhoneSummer13 321
Absolutely cannot wait to make these again.  Oh, the possibilities!  I might even make it a tradition for my daughter’s birthday.

IPhoneSummer13 294 IPhoneSummer13 291

Well, now this post is cutting into my shower time so I’m just going to add the rest of the pics and let them speak for themselves.  (Except for the horrible lighting in the display pics. I’ll explain that.  The set-up area was in my father-in-law’s man cave, which opens up into their ginormous yard; there was nice daylight coming in but it was impossible to capture in the pics..I’m trying not to be too upset about it. Even when I consider how stunning the pics could’ve been with the right lighting.)

IPhoneSummer13 428 IPhoneSummer13 355 IPhoneSummer13 346 IPhoneSummer13 345 IPhoneSummer13 343 IPhoneSummer13 342 IPhoneSummer13 479

Happy first birthday, my beautiful baby girl. ❤

4 thoughts on “Absentee Blogger and Summer Birthday Party cookies!

  1. Oh, MY GOODNESS!!!!! How gorgeous and colorful and playful and PERFECT for baby Mya’s first birthday! Love, love, love… So happy you shared… XXO

Leave a Reply

